top of page

The Corpus Christi Chorale and Camerata Isla Presents: Brahms' Requiem

BRAHMS concert poster.jpg

Brahms' Requiem premiered October 19, 2021 at 7:30pm. It was streamed Live and in-person the Performing Arts Center at TAMU-CC.

Concert Program:

I. Blessed are they that mourn

II. Behold all flesh is as the grass

III. Lord, make me to know

     Baritone Soloist: Ross C. Bernhardt

IV. How Lovely is Thy dwelling place

V. Ye now are sorrowful

VI. Here on earth we have no continuing place

     Bariton Soloist: Ross C. Bernhardt

VII. Blessed are the dead, which die in the Lord

Duo piano: Meaghan King and Alex Oldroyd

The Corpus Christi Chorale and Camerata Isla invites you to experience Brahms' Requiem

This seven-movement work was composed between 1865 and 1868. The Requiem is one of Brahms’ longest compositions, ranging from 65 to 80 minutes. As the title suggests, this composition was a deviation from the traditional Latin text and is performed often performed with German text. 

An alternative version of the full seven-movement work was composed by Brahms to be performed with four-hand piano. This alternative version was sung in English for the first complete British performance of the Requiem on July 10, 1871. The four-hand piano version of the Requiem has become known as the "London Version.” 

A Requiem Mass in the Roman Catholic liturgy traditionally begins with prayers for the dead. Brahms focused on the living, beginning with the text from the Beatitudes, "Blessed are they that mourn, for they shall be comforted.” This theme occurs often, except movements IV and VII. The idea of the Lord as a source of the comfort is represented, but the sympathetic humanism persists throughout most movements. 

Come experience the majesty of Brahms with the Corpus Christi Chorale and Camerata Isla!

Brahms' Requiem

Where: Online or In-Person at the Performing Arts Center at Texas A&M-Corpus Christi

When: October 19, 2021 at 7:30 pm, CDT 

bottom of page